Sounding Off

By Mitzi Beliveau

I would say to help the USA buy what you can find that is made in the USA. You notice I did not say America. That is because things can be made in South America. Small businesses make goods, we should buy from them or use their services. We should buy local. I went to the malls and looked for clothes made in the USA.

Guess what? I looked for several days, and most are made in third-world countries. We buy all the top brands’ clothes, shoes, and other products. Does that trickle down much? Not really. It helps someone keep their part-time job at minimum wage.

Buying local may cost a little more, but it keeps the local money and keeps the shop open, employing several people who buy food, rent, and other things in the local area. They pay taxes on the stuff they buy; you pay taxes on the stuff you buy. This helps the city/state. Each store I went to was strange, and they asked me if they could help me. I said yes, I want to buy USA-made clothes. Most said they did not have any. Some said maybe they had a few but could not find any…

I also started to buy used. It may have been made in another country, but the money goes to charity and helps others. I spend less so I can save. I can go out to eat and trickle down money to with local eatery and wait person. Who will spend money locally and pay taxes to the city/state? It’s a win-win thing there. I also give my unwanted items to charity so they can sell them, go full circle, and help my community, not a big business or another country.

Leave a comment