Afordable Auto

Affordable Auto Owner/Operator Henry Napiwocki

By Mitzi Beliveau

About ten years ago, I was going to one of the big auto dealer repair shops for the maker of the car. I was truly overwhelmed with disappointment. It was my third time at the shop for the same problem. I felt like my money was going down the drain, and the problem never got fixed. When my engine light went on for the fourth time. That’s when I knew I needed to go elsewhere.

As I talked to one of my neighbors about my frustrations with finding an honest auto mechanic, my neighbor said, “I see Henry at Affordable Auto in North St. Paul, MN. He is the best, honest and at a good price.” My neighbor gave me their number. I called Affordable Auto and spoke to them. I was quite pleased that I was able to get in the day! I got in my car, and I drove to Affordable Auto. I drove till I saw a large sign that showed me the way to their driveway and accessible parking lot. I knew I was in a great place when I walked into the door and was immediately greeted.

I admired the atmosphere while waiting for the mechanic to inspect my car. There were green plants all over the waiting area, free coffee, and the daily paper with a few magazines laid on the table for all to read.

I hadn’t waited long when Mr. Henry Napiwocki introduced himself to me and told me what he had found while searching for answers to why my engine light had come on. It wasn’t long before Henry and I spoke by the first name. I told Henry I had been going to larger and more expensive repair shops. I told Henry what they charged me and how frustrating it had become, saying to him, “They didn’t even fix the problems I had with my car!” Henry said he’d fix it and that he guaranteed his work. Affordable Auto had my car done within an hour and ¼ the price the other place had to charge me. I went home a happy and satisfied customer. I was overjoyed and felt a sense of relief that they fixed the problems I was having with my car on the first visit.

That was almost 10 years ago. I have been going back to Affordable Auto for all my car repairs. They are honest and loyal to their customers. They are knowledgeable about cars, trucks, SUVs, etc. They have always given me an honest quote and never overcharged me. But I also gain a lasting friendship with Henry at Affordable Auto. Everyone I know in the local area seems to know Henry. I am not the first person to write about Henry; the St. Paul Pioneer Press has written about him twice.

Henry and his shop have been on the local news channel Kare11 for the best repair shop in the Twin Cities area dating back to 2011, the local Lille News for Best Automotive Service Shop for 2003 and 2004; the Reader’s Choice Award for Lille News 2002 and 1997. Affordable Auto has their awards of achievement proudly displayed on the walls for customers to view.

Affordable Auto started their business in May 1981 in North St. Paul, MN. In August 2003, Affordable Auto moved the location of the shop to expand their business. The shop employs four full-time mechanics while Henry’s daughter answers the phone and makes customer appointments. I asked Henry what his challenges were when he first started. He said, “Times were better, and not much competition. I had 8 or 9 full-time guys then. I now have four long-term employees. One has been there 20 years, two about 10 years and one over 10 years.”

Henry said to stay in business, you have to be honest, care about your customers, do the job right, stand behind your work, and always stick with it. Working hard and enjoying the people seems to be a gift of Henry Napiwocki. Henry said he does not put out ads. His business is the only word of mouth, and three generations of families come to his shop. Affordable Auto does check light, FREE! That is almost unheard of with the big auto repair shops.

Henry will let you know if you have options in fixing your car, he’ll offer an honest price for repairs and you’ll find lasting friendships at Affordable Auto and through their loyal business practice. Every time I go in the Affordable Auto. I feel this sense of pride and appreciation, like I am going to my family’s shop. There is a lot of love going around in the shop, and it shows. Henry is well-known and loved in the neighborhood. Affordable Auto’s recognition extends throughout local metropolitan areas. I know I gained an honest and valued friendship at Affordable Auto Shop.

This shop is no longer available, the owner retired. What a great loss for the community.

Leave a comment